New Cabinet ministers take oath of office, hold first meeting

    Prime Minister Siaosi Sovaleni has appointed his Cabinet Ministers and held his first official meeting with them this morning in Nuku’alofa.

    Prime Minister Siaosi Sovaleni and his Cabinet Ministers. Photo/Supplied

    During the ministers’ appointment ceremony Mr Sovaleni also appointed Dr Pita Taufatofua as Ha’apai new governor.

    The ceremony included a prayer service led by by the Secretary General of the Free Wesleyan Church of Tonga, Rev ‘Alifeleti ‘Atiola.

    “The Prime Minister’s Office has the honour of advising members of the public, that His Majesty, King Tupou VI, upon receiving recommendations from the Prime Minister, the Hon. Siaosi ‘Ofakivahafolau Sovaleni, has appointed the new Ministers of Government, with effect from 28th December, 2021,” a Prime Minister’s Office statement said today.

    It said the Prime Minister “presented the letters of appointments to all of the Cabinet” today Wednesday 29.

    As Kaniva News reported last night, here’s what the new government looks like.

    Cabinet Ministers

    Siaosi ‘Ofa Ki Vahafolau Sovaleni (Hu’akavameiliku)

    • Minister for His Majesty’s Armed Forces
    • Minister of Police, Fire Services and Emergency Services
    • Minister of Education and Training

    Poasi Mataele Tei

    • Deputy Prime Minister
    • Minister for Meteorology, Energy, Information, Disaster Management, Environment, Climate Change and Communications (MEIDECC)
    • Minister for Public Enterprises

    Tatafu Toma Moeaki

    • Minister of Finance
    • Minister of Customs and Revenue

    Fekitamoeloa ‘Utoikamanu

    • Minister of Foreign Affairs
    • Minister of Tourism

    Sevenitini Toumoua

    • Minister for Infrastructure

    Saia Ma’u Piukala

    • Minister of Health

    Sēmisi Tauelangi Fakahau

    • Minister of Fisheries

    Viliami Manuopangai Hingano

    • Minister of Agriculture, Food and Forest

    Dr Viliami Uasikē Lātū

    • Minister for Economic Development and Trade

    Lord Tu’iāfitu

    • Minister for Lands and Natural Resources

    Sione Sangster Saulala

    • Minister of Internal Affairs

    Sāmiu Kiuta Vaipulu

    • Minister of Justice and Prisons


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here