Lord Vaha’i wins after coin toss as Democrats lead in Tongatapu early election results

    A coin toss was used to decide whether Lord Vaea or Lord Vaha’i won the third seat of members of the nobility to Parliament.

    Lord Vaha’i won the seat.

    Meanwhile, Losaline Ma’asi of the Democratic Party was leading the Tongatapu 5 race by 971 – 908 votes against sitting MP Dr. ‘Aisake Eke. The provisional results from ‘Atatā electorate have yet to be announced to give Tongatapu 5 outcome.

    Dr. Eke had secured the seat in the last two elections in provisional early results.

    Other Democratic Party candidates were leading the race in their Tongatapu constituencies.

    They were current Prime Minister ‘Akilisi Pōhiva (Tt1), SÄ“misi Lafu Sika (Tt2), Māteni Tapueluelu (Tt4), Poasi Tei (Tt6), Vuna Fā’otusia (Tt7), SÄ“misi Fakahau (Tt8), Penisimani Fifita (Tt9) and Pōhiva Tu’i’onetoa (Tt10)

    Former Deputy Prime Minister Siaosi Sovaleni has been reelected by Tongatapu 3.

    The king’s 33 nobles reelected seven nobles to Parliament including the Speaker Lord Tu’ivakano and a Minister in Prime Minister’s ‘Akilisi Pohiva’s government Lord Ma’afu.

    Vava’u, Niuas, Ha’apai and ‘Eua people election results have yet to be announced.

    Noble’s Representatives 2017


    1. Lord Tu’ivakano 12 votes

    2. Lord Ma’afu 11 votes

    3. Lord Vaha’i 7 votes


    1. Lord Tu’ilakepa 6 votes

    2. Lord Tu’i’afitu 5 votes


    1. Lord Tui’ha’angana 5 votes

    2. Lord Fakafanua 3 votes


    1. Lord Nuku 10 votes

    Ongo Niua

    1. Lord Fusitu’a 3 votes


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here