Three new Law Lords appointed by His Majesty

    His Majesty King Tupou VI has appointed three new Law Lords on Thursday 22 June.

    They were Mrs Linda Simiki Folaumoetuʻi, Mr Tu’inukutavake Barron Afeaki and Mr Michael Dishington Scott K.C.

    They will join Lord Tangi of Vaonukonuka, Rev. Dr Tevita Koloa’ia Havea, Lord Tupou of Kolofoʻou and Lord Dalgety of Sikotilani Tonga.

    They are now members of the two Standing Committees of the Privy Council, the Judicial Committee and the Judicial Appointments and Discipline Panel.

    Their roles included advising His Majesty on the exercise of his judicial powers, and on matters relating to appointments, clemency, Royal Commissions and terms and conditions of the Judiciary and to also investigate complaints against judges.

    The Judicial Appointments and Discipline Panel also includes Lord Chancellor Waalkens Q.C. (Chairman), Lord Chief Justice Paulsen and the Acting Attorney General Mr ‘Aminiasi Kefu S.C.

    The appointments did not mean these new appointees to Privy Council will automatically hold the title of “Lord” or “Lady”.


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here